DPE Annual Awards 2022

Diversity programs in engineering annual awards banner

Diversity Programs in Engineering (DPE) recognizes the outstanding undergraduate and graduate students, student organizations, faculty, and staff through our Annual Awards. Additionally, with support from our industry partners, DPE presents corporate awards and scholarships to students. The dinner was held on Wednesday, March 4. See photos on Flickr.

Signature Awards

Signature award recipients are selected by the number of nominations received in conjunction with qualitative examples of their deeds and efforts. These awards include a monetary prize to recognize the outstanding contributions of the award recipients.

Student of the Year Awards

  • Freshmen of the Year – Himma Aklilu ‘25, (Unaffiliated) Engineering
    • Honorable Mention: Judith Jatto ‘25, (Unaffiliated) Engineering
  • Undergraduate Student of the Year – William Salcedo ‘23, Electrical and Computer Engineering
    • Honorable Mention: Chuwuemeka (Emmanuel) Adebi ‘24, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • First Year Graduate Student of the Year – Gill Iradukunda, Engineering Management, M.Eng.
    • Honorable Mention: Jeremiah James, Biomedical Engineering, PhD Student 
  • Graduate Student of the Year – Priya Bhandari, Computer Science, M.Eng.

Read more about the awardees: Student of the Year Awards

Commitment to Diversity Awards

  • Zellman Warhaft Undergraduate Student Awardees: Myles Cherebin ‘22, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Zellman Warhaft Graduate Student Awardees: Jason Chang, ‘22, Biomedical Engineering, PhD Candidate
  • Richard Allmendinger Staff Commitment to Diversity Award: Marissa Porter, Graduate Field Assistant, Materials Science & Engineering Department

Read more about the awardees: Commitment to Diversity Awards

Mentorship Awards

  • CU Empower Outstanding Peer Protégé Awards – Damian Pulla ‘25 (Unaffiliated) Engineering
  • CU Empower Outstanding Peer Mentor Awards – Rick Zirkel, Biomedical Engineering, PhD Student
  • Ephrahim Garcia Graduate Excellence in Mentoring Awards – Nancy Uribe, Biomedical Engineering, PhD Candidate

Read more about the awardees: Mentorship Awards

Leadership and Service Awards

  • Undergraduate Excellence in Leadership Award – Adigun Olusola ‘24, Civil Engineering
    • Honorable Mentions: Jaden Jeswald ‘22, Environmental Engineering;  Sneha Nagarajan ‘22, Computer Science; Miah Sanchez ‘22, Computer Science
  • Undergraduate Distinguished Service Award – Demola Ogunnaike ’22, Environmental Engineering
  • The Robert Mozia Graduate Distinguished Service Award – Breanna Green, Information Science, PhD Student
  • Graduate Excellence in Leadership Award – Jesus Lopez Baltazar, Chemical Engineering, PhD Candidate
    • Honorable Mention: Maria Antoniak, Information Science, PhD Candidate

Read more about the awardees: Leadership and Service Awards

Corporate Awards & Scholarships

Seven of eight DPE Scholar awardees at the 2022 banquet. Awardees of mixed races and genders, all holding certificates
Diversity Scholar Awardees

Visit the corporate award and scholarship page for photos.

Society of American Military Engineers (SAME):

  • Hudson Scanni’23, Civil Engineering
  • Chanelle Moise ’23, Biomedical Engineering
  • Emilio (Leo) Herrera ’24, (Unaffiliated) Engineering


  • Courtney Golden ‘23, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Caleb Julian-Kwong ‘24, Environmental Engineering


  • Gabriella Passarelli ‘23, Mechanical Engineering
  • Isabella Siu ‘23, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lockheed Martin

  • Raphael Fortuna ‘23, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Natalie Isak ‘22, Computer Science

Pepsi Co.

  • Samantha Cobado ‘22, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Pietro Perez ‘23, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Sempra Energy

  • Isabella Animadu ‘22, Civil Engineering
  • Anna Lin ‘24, Materials Science and Engineering

Verizon Foundation

  • Katelyn Mosle ‘22, Mechanical Engineering
  • Rebekah Westerlind ‘22, Computer Science and Operations Research & Engineering

Diversity Scholar Awards

  • Barakat Abdul ‘24, Biomedical Engineering
  • Jayson Baptiste ‘24, (Unaffiliated) Engineering
  • Brandon Feraud-Solorzano ‘25, (Unaffiliated) Engineering
  • Jaden Jeswald ‘22, Environmental Engineering (CALS)
  • Ave Kludze ‘23, Biomedical Engineering
  • Kingsley Odae ‘22, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Hudson Scanni ‘23, Civil Engineering
  • Jing Jing Wang ‘22, Civil Engineering