Louis Stokes & LSAMP

The Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program is named after former Cleveland, Ohio US Representative Louis Stokes who served as a leading figure in Unites States Congress in matters concerning civil rights, equality, and social and economic justice.  The LSAMP program is managed by the Division of Human Resource Development (HRD), which is part of the Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR) of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Learn more about Rep. Stokes.

LSAMP was established by Congressional mandate in 1991 to significantly increase the quality and quantity of minorities who successfully complete baccalaureate degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and who continue on to graduate studies in these fields. The program supports increasing the participation and advancement of under-represented minorities.

To meet the challenges presented by the nation’s increasing needs in STEM, LSAMP is committed to the development of highly competitive STEM students from historically underrepresented populations  from pre-college through post-baccalaureate levels at our nation’s colleges and universities.

Upstate LSAMP

Cornell University is part of the Upstate Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (ULSAMP), a partnership between: Clarkson University, Cornell University, Monroe Community College, SUNY Onondaga Community College, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Rochester Institute of Technology, and Syracuse University. The mission of ULSAMP is to develop the next generation of innovators and grow a workforce highly qualified for a knowledge-based economy that is representative of our nation’s demographics. ULSAMP is a part of the National LSAMP program and is supported by a grant from the National Science Foundation HRD-2308698.